OCW Consortium announces winners of annual awards for OCW excellence

Each year, the OpenCourseWare Consortium recognizes outstanding individual, site and course contributions to the OCW movement.  The winners of this year’s individual Awards for OpenCourseWare Excellence (ACEs) were announced in a press release today:

Professor Barbara Illowsky, Professor of Mathematics at De Anza Community College in California, USA, has been selected to receive the Educator ACE for her work in creating an open statistics text book used by more than 20 colleges in the US, Canada and elsewhere.  Previous winners of this award include MIT Professor Walter Lewin (2011) and José Vida Fernández from the University Carlos III of Madrid (2012).

Professor ChiKaung Pai of National Chiao Tung University is the recipient of the OpenCourseWare Consortium’s Leadership ACE for her efforts in establishing NCTU OCW and leading the Taiwan OpenCourseWare Consortium. Previous winners of this award include Pedro Aranzadi Elejabeitia of Universia (2011) and Dr. Oladele Ogunseitan from the University of California, Irvine (2012).

The awards are presented each year at the global OpenCourseWare Consortium’s annual conference, to be held this year May 8-10 in Bali, Indonesia.  Individual award recipients are selected by the Consortium’s Board of Directors; site and course awards are selected by an awards committee populated from the Consortium membership.  Site ACEs will be announced in April and ACEs for individual courses will be announced at the OCWC Conference.

Our congratulations go out to this year’s recipients!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s